Little Stove

Little Stove – street view

I have been very eager to visit Little Stove cafe after hearing great things about it. It is located on the corner amongst other shops including Matters of Taste cooking School. As soon as I arrived I was so excited and knew I was going to fall in love with this little cafe. Why, you ask? I think it comes down to the clever design and atmosphere created, I felt so at home and relaxed I could have stayed all day. From the dog bowls to armchairs and an old tv out the front with crochet blankets for customers to wrap around themselves to keep warm, to the open fireplace inside, the kitsch style with old lampshades, sepia photos, fresh flowers on every table, the toy chest for children and the LP records used on tables as mats. There was also a section at the back of the cafe which sold a variety of gifts.

The menu is printed on A4 grid paper (just like we used in high school!), had the usual suspects and a few interesting options thrown in.

Menu

I chose the Chevapcici  with Fried Eggs, Mushrooms, Bacon, Sourdough, Hummus and Fetta Stuffed Paprika $20. Sounded like an interesting option and wow it was huge when it arrived. The two fried eggs sat on top with the stuffed paprika between them. Looking underneath revealed sourdough spread with hummus (loved it!), lots of mushrooms, bacon and the chevapcici which are like spicy skinless sausages. The paprika was roasted and the fetta tasty. It was such a mix of unusual flavours for breakfast but I thought it was Noshtastic and would definitely order it again.

Chevapcici with Fried Eggs, Mushrooms, Bacon, Sourdough with Hummus and Fetta Stuffed Paprika – top view

Chevapcici with Fried Eggs, Mushrooms, Bacon, Sourdough with Hummus and Fetta Stuffed Paprika – underneath view

My hubby with his sweet tooth wanted to order the Panettone French Toast with Ice Cream and Passionfruit Curd ($17) but it had already sold out. So he chose the Scrambled Eggs on buttered Sourdough ($12) and he also tried to help himself to bits on my plate. He said his eggs were creamy and soft and appreciated the sourdough being buttered.

Scrambled Eggs on buttered Sourdough

A lot of effort went into the art on top of our drinks too – which I’m always a sucker for. (pics further below) I also think it’s great when cafes support local producers and only use free range eggs. Little Stove is one of the best kept secrets in Perth and I can’t recommend it enough. Pop in for breakfast from 7am to 12 noon, lunch between 12 noon and 3pm or for a coffee and cake. I’ll definitely be back, you’ll probably see me there wrapped in my crochet blanket in front of the tv!

Little Stove

Milk jug served with Tea

Flat White

Little Stove

Shop 97

Harris Street

Bicton 6157
Little Stove on Urbanspoon

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

