1 Comment

Sayers Sister

Street View

I’m in love.

I knew from the minute I walked in the door.

This was going to be my first of many visits to Sayers Sister. This new cafe from Mark and Stephanie Sayers, of Sayers Leederville, (arguably Perth’s best breakfast spot) is going to be just as popular, probably even more so. Today was their first day open to the public and despite expecting chaos and pandemonium, it had a sense of calm amongst the buzz of excited customers. Surely another sign of a success story unfolding. Mark and Stephanie obviously have that secret special touch to creating popular cafes that others don’t even seem to come close to. With such eagerness to visit I was accompanied by my mum and sister today who are also huge Sayers fans.

It’s an open plan layout with the kitchen at the back, lots of face brick, painted white wood ceilings and concrete floors. On one side of the cafe are tables for two with high winged back chairs. The other side of the cafe has tables and bench style seating along the wall. I loved the centre table upon which there are stools for customers at one end, a counter for ordering at the other end, homemade cakes (served with double cream!), chocolates, fresh flowers and the most gorgeous lights hanging overhead. The walls are adorned with large mirrors, a feature of mis-match of doors and picture frames. The front of the cafe has additional seating  under the verandah enclosed with clear blinds for days with unpleasant weather.

Sayers Sister – inside

We studied the menu with high expectations and were not disappointed at the choice and range of options available. (Note, all orders are placed and paid for at the counter.) On the drinks front there was a lot of choice and I would have liked to try the Honeycomb Affogato but being early morning we ordered a Hot Chocolate, Flat White and Long Black. (Next time I’m definitely ordering it!) For brunch I ordered the Bubble and Squeak Cake, Smoked Speck, Poached Eggs, Wilted Spinach and Chive Hollandaise ($19.50). It was well presented and the poached eggs perfectly cooked. The speck was tasty and the bubble and squeak cake was very moorish.

Bubble and Squeak Cake, Smoked Speck, Poached Eggs, wilted Spinach and Chive Hollandaise

My sister ordered the Vegetarian Full Breakfast ($22) with poached eggs, potato cake, 3 beans, grilled tomato, balsamic mushroom, pumpkin and feta frittata and spinach. She really enjoyed it, especially the mushroom and it’s dressing but wondered if her potato cake looked identical to my bubble and squeak cake. It was a very generous portion and she polished off every last morsel!

Full Vegetarian Breakfast

My mum ordered the Free Range Poached Eggs on toasted Extra Virgin Olive Oil Ciabatta ($11) and a side of Rocket and Parmesan Salad ($3). Again her eggs were perfectly poached and the rocket was fresh with generous shavings of parmesan.

Poached Eggs with Rocket and Parmesan Salad

All our meals were promptly served on incredibly hot plates which we appreciated as it kept our meals extra warm. Staff were friendly, keen to please and enthusiastic, probably a little too much when my plate was whipped out from under me as I took my last mouthful and my mums almost finished coffee was about to be carried away, but on opening day we can forgive that.

I’m told Sayers Sister is open Tuesday to Sunday from 7am til 5pm. Breakfast is served Tues-Sat 7-11:30 and Sunday 7-2pm. It can be booked out for private functions and would make a very romantic venue for a wedding reception. Congratulations Mark and Stephanie on Sayers Sister, it gets a big two thumbs up from me for the Noshtastic experience. See you again very, very soon!

Hot Chocolate

Flat White

Sayers Little Sister

Sayers Sister

36 Lake Street

Northbridge 6003

Sayers Little Sister  on Urbanspoon

One comment on “Sayers Sister

  1. I believe this amazing post , “Sayers Sister
    noshbites”, really pleasurable not to mention the
    post was a remarkable read. Thank you-Asa

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

