Spaghi Italian Restaurant

My hubby and I had been wanting to try Spaghi Italian Restaurant for a while but had heard many mixed reviews so we’d hesitated coming. But it was a Saturday night and my husband and I were child free and decided we’d go there on our way home for dinner. We arrived at 9pm to a half full restaurant and were seated quickly and handed menus. There was a good selection of dishes to choose from but I knew I would be chosing pasta as I really fancied it. (I also noted that the menu prices have increased from the ones listed on Urbanspoon.)

Our meals arrived quickly and were really hot. I had chosen the Carrettiera ($26), penne pasta tossed with bacon, onion, garlic, capsicum, capers, mushrooms, pine nuts in a tomato sauce with a dash of cream (I asked for no olives). The sauce was thick and there was just enough to coat the pasta. The pasta was cooked perfectly and the flavours very hearty and flavoursome. I would even go as far to say it was one of the best pastas I’ve ever eaten!

Carretteria

Carrettiera

My hubby chose the Garganelli Pollo a Broccoli ($26), a home-made egg pasta with chicken, onions, broccoli, herbs and spices in a cream sauce with parmesan. It was very rich and again served with perfectly cooked pasta in a little sauce. My hubby really enjoyed it which was lucky as I had no intention of sharing my pasta tonight!

Garganelli Pollo a Broccoli

Garganelli Pollo a Broccoli

We didn’t realise it was BYO wine and beer so I ordered a Lemon, Lime and Bitters ($5) which came in a glass with a straw and was slightly flat so I assume it was poured from a larger bottle. My hubby ordered a Coke ($5)  which came with a straw in a can which felt very cheap. Surely serving and pouring the coke into a glass isn’t too much effort?

By 9:40 our table was cleared and we had decided we’d definitely get a coffee and glance at he dessert menu to see if we fancied anything to share. So we waited…..and waited…..and waited. Nobody offered us a dessert menu or a coffee. One staff member was even cleaning tables near us and kept leaving the cleaning cloth and bottle hanging off the stair rail in full view of customers dining! Then all the staff sat down at a big table and began to eat a meal! There were still 5 tables occupied in the restaurant with customers, one a large table of 10. We were rather taken aback as it was a Saturday night before 10pm with a diners whom the staff were not interested in at all. When my husband got up to pay the bill the staff member was not impressed they had to leave their meal to put the bill through the register. I even took a photo as I knew my family would think I was joking about it.

Staff eating whilst customers still dining in the restaurant - cleaning cloth and bottle left dangling on the stair rail

Staff eating whilst customers still dining in the restaurant – cleaning cloth and bottle left dangling on the stair rail

By now we were faced with the terrible dilemma that we’d found a local restaurant which served delicious pasta but the service and attention to customers was appalling. Considering the meals are on the more expensive side ($62 for 2 pastas and 2 soft drinks) and the little things like soft drink served in a can with a straw, thin napkins and staff attitudes that make customers ponder their whole experience and wonder whether they’d come back.

I don’t think we’d go back in a hurry which is a shame as I liked their pasta but I feel a restaurant which doesn’t look after it’s customers is one not worth my custom….and I’m not the only one after reading several reviews.

Spaghi Italian Restaurant

888 Canning Highway

Applecross 6153

9316 1040

Spaghi Italian Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

