1 Comment

Adriano Zumbo

Adriano Zumbo – street view

I must admit I don’t always have time to watch Masterchef and having seen Adriano Zumbo in the most boring cooking demonstration at the Good Food and Wine Show in Perth, I really couldn’t understand what all the hype was about him and his cooking. However I thought I’d try  some of his cakes when in Sydney and see if that would help me understand all the fuss. Located at The Star you are first attracted to the very clever, unique and colourful display of cakes and macarons. Many people come in, wander around taking photos and then leave.

Wall display

Macaron display

Adriano Zumbo

Inside view

Adriano Zumbo – Inside view

Cake display

Cake display

At the opposite end to the shop is his dessert train. People sitting on stools whilst desserts move past you on mini conveyor belt (just like at some sushi cafes.) Pricing is determined by the colour of the plates ranging from $8.50 to $10.50. Quite a novel idea really and something we thought we might do until we noticed that there were not many cakes or choices on the train that appealed to us making us wonder how long they’d been riding the ‘train’  for. So back to the shop we go. We choose 4 desserts all slightly different. A Lemon Meringue Tart $9, a Croquembouche $15 , Tarte Tatin  and a Chocolate and Raspberry Concoction (which I unfortunately can’t recall its name).

Lemon Meringue Tart

Lemon Meringue Tart

Croquenbouche

Croquembouche

Tarte Tatin

Tarte Tatin

camera 15.11.12 065 (Medium)We tried each of the cakes over a few evenings back at our hotel and found them all to be very rich. I can’t say I was truly blown away with any of them and was rather disappointed that 3 of them all had the same biscuit base! My favourite would have been a tie between the Lemon Meringue Tart and the Tarte Tatin.

So I’m still not wholly convinced – yes there are some unique creations by Zumbo but are they taste worthy of all the current hype? What do you think?

Adriano Zumbo Patissier

The Star

80 Pyrmont St

Pyrmont 2009

02 9810 7318
Adriano Zumbo Pâtissier on Urbanspoon

One comment on “Adriano Zumbo

  1. I have no idea about the taste and I don’t care to try.
    Masterchef is basically a show that panders to advertising and they
    treat him like he’s a winner of the Meilleurs Ouvriers de France
    competition (he wishes). He has the flagship shop in Balmain, but
    the cakes -in my view- are way too expensive and I refuse to pay
    something like ten dollars for a tiny cake that is basically priced
    to cover his outgoing expenses (i.e. the army of employees that
    actually bake his cakes)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

