Bistro Felix

Bistro Felix - street view

Bistro Felix – street view

My hubby and I chose to mark the date of 2 years living back in Australia by going out for dinner. I’d been keen to try Bistro Felix and were lucky enough to get a reservation. Stepping inside we were warmly greeted by staff and seated at our table which was very close to neighbouring tables. We really liked the prints adorning most walls, the ambient lighting and the generous bar which dominated the middle of the room.

We glanced at the menu knowing it was going to be hard to choose tonight. For entrĂ©e, I chose the Roasted Pork Belly $24 served on greens. The pork was amazing from the crispy crackling to the right combination of soft and chewy meat. Luckily my hubby doesn’t like pork so I didn’t have to share it with him!

Pork Belly

Pork Belly

My hubby chose the Goats Cheese Souffle $24 which was twiced baked and served with a pear, hazelnut and baby leaf salad. The souffle drizzled in cheese sauce was one of the best we’d tasted and was light in texture but still maintaining a cheesy flavour.

Cheese Souffle

Cheese Souffle

For mains I chose the Beef Cheek $36 which had been slowly cooked so it was incredibly soft and tender. The vegetables had also been cooked in the same juices and had absorbed the full flavour. I really enjoyed it and unfortunately the photo doesn’t give this dish enough justice.

Beef Cheek

Beef Cheek

Hubby chose the Chicken Breast $39, which was served on a bed of baby carrots and potatoes. The chicken was tender and juicy and well enjoyed.

Bistro Felix

Chicken Breast

We were offered the dessert menu and although we had originally decided not to have dessert we knew we could make room for a sweet something from the menu. I chose the Chocolate Walnut Tart $16 served with a fruit sauce and thick cream and decorated with a flower. The tart was full of walnuts and was so rich that I couldn’t finish it.

Chocolate Walnut Tart

Chocolate Walnut Tart

My hubby chose the Lemon and Cinnamon Brulee $16 served with biscotti. The brulee had a hard carmelised top which when hit with the back of the spoon, splintered into shards revealing the creamy texture underneath. I must say my hubby had enough room to finish all his brulee and then make an attempt on my unfinished tart!

Lemon Cinnamon Brulee

Lemon Cinnamon Brulee

Overall we enjoyed our experience at Bistro Felix. The staff were friendly and incredibly attentive, refilling our glasses and clearing our table unobtrusively. It’s the kind of service you would hope more places in Perth encourage their staff to adopt.

Bistro Felix - inside

Bistro Felix – inside

Bistro Felix

118 Rokeby Rd

Subiaco 6008

9388 3077
Bistro Felix on Urbanspoon

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

