Central Baking Depot

Central Baking Depot – street view

We’re all on holiday in Sydney – well technically my husband is working and we’re tagging along for the week! So I’m looking for somewhere for breakfast for my son and I that’s not standard hotel buffet food. I have heard great things about the Central Baking Depot and am keen to try it out. First thing I notice when I arrive it’s not buggy friendly and there is only a very small seating area but we luckily manage to grab a table and park ourselves out of the way.

The menu consists of lots of yummy pastries and bread. I order a toasted Ham and Cheese Croissant $5 which has full of tasty ham and gooey cheese.

Ham and Cheese Croissant

Ham and Cheese Croissant

For my son I ordered the Sourdough toast $3.70,  2 slices served with pots of butter and jam. The jam was thick and fruity and kept my son quiet for sometime until he had finished.

Toast and jam

Toast and jam

I also ordered a Flat White Coffee $3.2o but saw much larger cups being served to others so I remembered to ask for a large coffee next time!

The bakery was very busy whilst we were there, very popular with city workers grabbing a coffee and pastry on-the-go. We also liked watching the pastry chefs working in the open plan work area next to the table and chairs. As we were leaving the chefs were just bringing out some more pastries so we bought a Lemon Curd Brulee Tart to eat later that day. The lemon curd filling was encased in flaky pastry with a crunchy brulee top – yum!

Lemon Curd Brulee Tart

Lemon Curd Brulee Tart

Overall I really liked the food at the Central Baking Depot and thought it was very reasonably priced for a CBD bakery. I would definitely recommend it to others.

Central Baking Depot

39 Erskine St

Sydney 2000

02 9290 2229
Central Baking Depot on Urbanspoon

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

