La Renaissance Patisserie

La  - street view

La Renaissance – street view

The Rocks is a very pretty part of Sydney and our neighbours highly recommended a visit to a French patisserie they liked named La Renaissance Cafe Patisserie. It looks deceptively small from the street front but step inside and you’ll find a peaceful courtyard out the back away from what can be a very busy street on weekends. The display of cakes will make your mouth water. Each one so delicately created you wonder if they’re too good to eat!

camera 15.11.12 157 (Medium)

La Renaissance cakes

camera 15.11.12 158 (Medium)

La Renaissance cakes

camera 15.11.12 159 (Medium)

La Renaissance cakes

La Renaissance cakes

La Renaissance cakes

I really liked the look of many of the berry cakes but I’m not a huge fan of berries – I even put them on my pavlovas as I think they look great but always end up scraping them off my serve.  I finally chose a Zulu $9, made of Valrhona “Araguani” 72% and Jivara 40% chocolate mousse with a chewy salted caramel “Araguani” Ganache centre, macaron biscuit and flourless chocolate biscuit base. It was one of the most exquisite cakes I’ve ever had. The combination of flavours and richness of the chocolate I was in noshtopia.

Zulu

Zulu

Zulu - inside

Zulu – inside

I pointed to a macaron for my son but he said no and pointed to a Chocolate Eclair $5.50. Hmm. Not wanting to cause a scene I ordered it for him thinking he wouldn’t eat it and perhaps we’ll save it for his dad later. Well I definitely thought wrong as he finished every last morsel of it, licking his lips in delight. I almost didn’t get a photo of it as you can see him in the photo, quickly trying to get hold of it!

camera 15.11.12 161 (Medium)

La Renaissance is a must for anyone visiting The Rocks and it’s open from 8am to 6pm 7 days a week. The only difficulty you’ll find beside beating the weekend queues is deciding what to choose!

La Renaissance Cafe Patisserie

47 Argyle St

Sydney 2000

02 9241 4878
La Renaissance Cafe Patisserie on Urbanspoon

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

