The Secret Garden Cafe

Laneway View

Laneway View

I was passing through the city running errands and on the spur of the moment thought perhaps my hubby and I could  have a quick lunch together in the city.  I do love the city at lunchtime, lots of people bustling about trying to grab some lunch or do some quick shopping. Luckily he was getting ready to head out for lunch so he took me to The Secret Garden Cafe. What a great calm oasis hidden of the main streets in a laneway. We sat inside at the last available table as all the outdoor tables were full already. Our waitress handed us some menus and water and we quietly took in the rustic atmosphere around us.

Inside view

Inside view

The menu had lots of tempting things on offer and there are breakfast and lunch specials too. I chose to have the Caesar Salad $15.50 with Chicken Breast $6.50. It was a very filling salad. I liked my poached egg on top and the crispy bacon and croutons. There was also a generous amount of shaved parmesan lurking underneath. The dressing was light and my salad was definitely not swimming in it which I was very pleased about.

Caesar Salad with Chicken

Caesar Salad with Chicken

My hubby ordered the Burrito $15 with Spiced Chicken $4.50.  He said the spice level was good and the spiced beans and coriander rice added great flavour to the chicken. He also ordered some Hand Cut Chips $8.50 served with house made roast garlic aioli.  I must admit I stole a fair few of the chips as they were very moorish!

Chicken Burrito

Chicken Burrito

Hand cut chips

Hand cut chips

I’d definitely visit The Secret Garden again for lunch and would like to try a few things on the breakfast menu too.

Courtyard

Courtyard

The Secret Garden Cafe

7/329 Murray St

Murray Mews

Perth 6000

9322 5885

Secret Garden on Urbanspoon

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

