Gordon St Garage

Street View

Street View

I was very keen to dine at the Gordon St Garage for lunch on a weekday after a sneak peek at their menu but my first visit was for an early weekend breakfast. Being early meant we were lucky to park on the street and we had a choice of tables to sit at. Upon entering I really liked the interior layout and design – an industrial feel diner with a hint of quirkiness. There’s lots to take in, different areas and even a mezzanine level with comfy sofa seating. We were perched in the middle with a good view of the kitchen servery area and had the morning sunshine filtering through across our table.

We were given a water, menus and coffee orders were immediately taken. The water came in a metal jug and the Coffees ($4) were good – hot and strong with a velvety consistency. The Babycino ($2) disappeared very quickly and our son liked the marshmallows.

Cappucino

Cappucino

Flat White

Flat White

Babycino

Babycino

Water Jug

Water Jug

The breakfast menu had all the usual suspects. I couldn’t decide between the Garage Breakfast ($24) or the Smoked Ham Hock on Rye with Boston BeansĀ  and Haloumi ($17) but I finally chose the Garage Breakfast. The large plate consisted of eggs cooked your way (I chose poached), streaky bacon, a pinwheel sausage, wood fired mushrooms, smoked tomato, potato fry, baked beans and sourdough. I really enjoyed the beans with their smoky flavour, the perfectly poached eggs, the crispy bacon and potato fry which was simply a crunchy hash brown. However I felt the pin wheel sausage was dry and tasteless and the sourdough was so hard when you cut it, it broke into shards. I was disappointed and wished I had gone with my other choice of the ham hock. My hubby also ordered the same meal with his eggs scrambled and too found his toast quite hard and the sausage dry.

Garage Breakfast with Poached Eggs

Garage Breakfast with Poached Eggs

Garage Breakfast with Scrambled Eggs

Garage Breakfast with Scrambled Eggs

Our son had Poached Eggs and Toast ($9.50), again the eggs were perfectly poached and his toast (very lightly toasted) was somewhat softer and easy for him to dunk into the egg yolk (although he left all the crusts!)

Gordon St Garage

Eggs and Toast

Overall I really liked the atmosphere and I’d still like to come again for that midweek lunch I’d been looking forward to. Gordon St Garage, I reckon you’re worth a second visit and I hope it’ll be better than my experience this time.

Inside view

Inside view

Inside view

Inside view

Inside view

Inside view

Gordon St Garage

16 Gordon St

Perth 6000

9322 8050

Gordon St Garage on Urbanspoon

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

