1 Comment

Varnish on King

Main entrance

Main entrance

Late one Tuesday night my friend and I stumble upon Varnish on King with rumbling hungry tummies.  Once you’ve stepped through the heavy wood doors from the street, a glass sliding door automatically opens before you walk downstairs. We felt like we’d entered a private club and  were instantly aware of a pleasant wood smell. It’s busy inside but we’re warmly greeted and happily offered the only spare table. We decide to get straight into the menu and order food quickly. Our waiter is happy to make suggestions, there’s even the option for $55 to let the chef choose a combination of 5 dishes from the menu. But I knew I wanted the coveted short ribs I’d heard so much about so we made our own menu choices.

Inside

Inside

The twice cooked Short Ribs $28 were served with a Jack Daniels treacle reduction and salsa verde. What’s not to like about meat so tender it falls off the slender bone without any effort required. The treacle reduction and brussel sprout leaves made this a well executed dish. No surprise it’s so popular.

Short Ribs

Short Ribs

My friend ordered the Duck Breast $24. Chunks of pink duck was scattered around the plate and although my picture is blurred my friend ensures me it’s really good duck. (Sorry – I’m not a duck fan)

Duck Breast

Duck Breast

Desserts were a real tempter. We chose to have a dessert each but in hindsight we should have shared they were so rich! My friend loves the sour flavour in food so was recommended to order the Whisky Sour $14. Layers of soft meringue, crunchy meringue, lemon curd, whisky jelly and cherries made for an interesting combination but noticeably its smoked flavour made it unique.

Varnish on King

The Rocky Road $14 beat us and we couldn’t finish it. Squares of chocolate ganache topped with crispy chocolate balls was plated with marshmallows, hibiscus jelly and a track of chocolate smeared down one side of the plate. It was incredibly rich and decadent.

Rocky Road

Rocky Road

We asked to order coffee and was told they only serve Single Espresso $3.50 which was served with a trio of pots containing caramel, bourbon sugar and panella sugar. We had lots of fun trying different combinations.

Single Espresso

Single Espresso

Varnish on King is open Monday to Saturday and bookings are only taken online. Its location also makes it a great spot for pre/post drinks for concerts at the Arena. But don’t just take my word for it, go and try it for yourself. Oh.. and order the ribs, you wont be disappointed!

Varnish on King

75 King Street

Perth 6000

9324 2237
Varnish on King on Urbanspoon

One comment on “Varnish on King

  1. I love this place, it’s one of my all-time favourites when I’m in the city. I think it’s something to do with the ambience, the downstairs entry and the tiny tables. Makes me feel like I’m in another era, for some reason :) The ribs look amazing!!! I definitely need to try them very soon… with that caramel coffee. Yum! x

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

