Leave a comment

Rochelle Adonis Cakes and Confections

Street view

Street view

Queen of all things sweet, Rochelle Adonis was on my must visit list last weekend. Yes I’d heard about the high teas and the drool worthy desert degustations. I knew I’d never get a last-minute booking for a seat at one of her ever popular high teas but knowing I could walk in and order a treat to enjoy in the front courtyard was too easy. After entering off the street into the leafy courtyard which was scattered with a few tables and stools we made our way to the main entrance. Inside was buzzing with girly giggles and a clatter of fine china. My friend and I eyed off the delicious treats everyone was eating but our attention was then quickly focused on the dessert cabinet… and my oh my! How were we ever going to make a choice? But of course we finally did and with tea too by¬†The Seventh Duchess.

View of our table

View of our table

Lemon Meringue Pie was my go-to dessert for as long as I can remember but it’s been so long since I’d had some and when I saw it I knew that was going to be my choice today. I was not disappointed. The golden butter case was crisp and the soft tangy lemon curd cut through the sweetness of the meringue top.

Lemon Meringue Pie

Lemon Meringue Pie

The Fig Cake was simply topped with a piece of fig and inside another large piece of fig was to be found lurking. The cake was light in texture and well enjoyed.

Rochelle Adonis

It was lovely sitting in the cool shade of the courtyard trees. Our table looked rather pretty with it mis-matched china and a single pink rose. Time flew by and before we knew it, high tea was over inside and the courtyard began to fill with ladies keen to linger on and gossip. But all good things must come to an end so we finally peeled ourselves away with a simple vow to return again soon.

I highly recommend you pop in for a well deserved treat or make an outing of it – frock up and book high tea with your girlfriends or your mum.

Rochelle Adonis

Rochelle Adonis

2 St Albans Ave

Highgate 6003

9227 0007
Rochelle Adonis Cakes + Confections on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

