The Hardware Societe 2

Street view

Street view

My second visit to The Hardware Societe has not left me disappointed. Arriving late morning for breakfast, we joined the expected queue and after a short wait we were seated inside at a large round table which we shared with other diners. There’s a lot to take in; from the barista station with teacups lining the wall, to a fresh bread cart, gourmet products to buy, cake stands and the sunny yellow theme that pops out.

I love that coffee orders are taken quickly leaving time to peruse the menu at more leisure. I chose a Flat White ($3.50) and my friend, a Chai Latte ($3.50). Both drinks were served hot and unfortunately missing the mini donut balls which they’d already sold out of.

Flat White

Flat White

Chai Latte

Chai Latte

The menu has Spanish and French influences which would easily appeal to those looking for more than standard breakfast fare. I could still recall how noshlicious my last breakfast was here so I chose the same breakfast which had only slightly changed.  The Scrambled Eggs ($18) were creamy and soft and served in a mini frypan. Accompanied by a crunchy baguette filled with smoked bacon, pear and saffron chutney, chevre and fresh soft herbs (one of two options). It came smartly presented on a small wooden chopping board and was incredibly filling.

Scrambled Eggs

Scrambled Eggs

My friend ordered one of the two Baked Eggs ($17) options. A little cocotte filled with chorizo sausage, piquillo pimento sauce, crunchy almonds and queso de cabra goats milk cheese. Served on a wooden board with thick slices of crusty french bread drizzled with olive oil. It looked rich and hearty and although the flavours were strong it was soft in the palette with the exception of the crunchy almonds.

Baked Eggs

Baked Eggs

The Hardware Societe does not disappoint and is a definitely on my breakfast list for when I’m in Melbourne. Plan your visit soon!

Barista Station

Barista Station

Inside view

Inside view

The Hardware Societe

118-120 Hardware St

Melbourne

3000

(03) 9078 5992
The Hardware Societe on Urbanspoon

