The Plain

Street view

Street view

There is nothing more exciting than travelling to other countries and experiencing a whole new range of tastes. But the one thing I miss is a really good coffee. When I was last in Singapore on holiday I found myself desperate for a good coffee so I decided to do a google search and I stumbled across the The Plain. It’s located a very short walk from our hotel in the business district and is also only a short walk from other local attractions such as  Chinatown, the Budda Tooth Relic Temple and Museum, the Sri Mariammam Temple, the Maxwell Food Centre, and the Red Dot Design Museum.

Housed in an old pre-war shophouse (great buildings for photos) that have been maintained amongst all the many new shiny highrise apartments and offices nearby. I took my son along for our first visit with the plan of ordering coffee and perhaps breakfast. Stepping up from the street, we enter into its clean, simple interior and a warm ‘good morning’ greeting from the already busy barista. We found ourselves a table and read through the menu (serves all day breakfast!) which  is simple but instantly bought a smile to my face…Vegemite! Yep, there’s vegemite on the menu and my little man was stoked to be able to have their Humpty Dumpty (eggs) and Vegemite Soldiers and he loved dunking his soldiers into the perfectly boiled eggs.

Humpty Eggs and Vegemite Soldiers

Humpty Eggs and Vegemite Soldiers

I settled for the poached Plain Eggs on buttered sourdough. Crusty sourdough all golden and buttery with two perfectly poached eggs which oozed across the sourdough as I cut into them. So simple and totally noshlicious.

Plain Eggs

Plain Eggs

My flat white coffee which was my reason for this visit was so good I ordered another! Word must be out as I watched many locals walk in and out with several coffee orders for the nearby office. I also heard a few Australian accents among them too! Also eyeing around the room as we ate, I noticed a dessert trolley that included lamingtons!

Flat White

Flat White

Dessert Trolley

Dessert Trolley

So let’s be honest, I was hooked on this place. In fact I was so hooked that each morning of our holiday, my son and I walked past our hotels buffet breakfast and headed straight to the Plain Cafe. (Oh and hubby joined us too when he wasn’t having working breakfast meetings – and yes, he loved it too)

The Plain

The Plain

The Plain

The Plain

The Plain

So if you’re living in Singapore or simply visiting on holiday, make the time to visit this cafe you surely wont be disappointed!

Plain Cafe

50 Craig Road, #01-01 

Singapore 089688

+65 6225 4387

